REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING December 21, 2020

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on December 21, 2020 in the media center at the high school at 6:00 p.m. Board members present: Michael Forsgren, Jon Karger, Anne Peterson (via Zoom), Brittany Dokken (via Zoom), Brenda Olson, Greg Larson. Board members absent: None. Others present: Brian Korf, Derrick Nelson, Rudy Martinez (via Zoom), Molly Welch, Brian Stavenger (via Zoom), Barb Ripley, Bill Simmons, Lou Hoglund.

The meeting was called to order by Jon Karger.

Greg Larson moved to approve the meeting agenda with the following changes:

Move the following items from the Consent Agenda to Business items

Approve the contract with Rodolfo Martinez as Finance Director for July 1, 2021 to June 30, 2023

Approve the contract with Brian Korf as Superintendent for July 1, 2021

to June 30, 2024

The motion was seconded by Michael Forsgren and carried with all board members voting in favor with a roll call vote.

School Board acknowledgements:

Marty Carlson - 8 years of service Michael Forsgren - 8 years of service Wendy Hoadley - 33 years of service Kayls Miltich - 23 years of service DuWayne Strom

Reports presented:

Elementary Principal/Activities Director Mr. Derrick Nelson Finance Director Mr. Rudy Martinez Interim Superintendent/HS Principal Mr. Brian Korf

Greg Larson moved to approve the consent agenda consisting of the following items:

A. Approve board minutesNovember 9, 2020 regular meeting
November 13, 2020 special meeting
November 18, 2020 special meeting

- B. Financial claims November bills
- C. Treasurer's report
- D. Accept donations:

To Viking Elementary 1st grade Literacy Lunch-VFW \$300

To FFA-MN National Bank \$125

To FFA-Zoetis \$38

To Scholarships in memory of John Matheson-Judy & Paul Tabbut \$50

To Scholarships in memory of Marian Haugrud-Anonymous \$15

E. Personnel:

Approve the resignation of Marty Carlson as ELL para effective December 23, 2020

Hire Abby Fresonke as ADSIS teacher-full time

Hire Lexy Dunbar as ADSIS teacher

Hire Kim Haugrud as a long term substitute

Extend a leave for Charla Seter until approximately April 15, 2021

The motion was seconded by Brenda Olson and passed with all members voting in favor with a roll call vote.

Michael Forsgren moved to approve the 2019-20 audit report presented by Brian Stavenger from Eide Bailly. The motion was seconded by Greg Larson and carried with all members voting in favor with a roll call vote.

Greg Larson moved to approve the retirement of Kayls Miltich as elementary teacher effective January 15, 2021. The motion was seconded by Anne Peterson and carried with all members voting in favor with a roll call vote.

Jon Karger moved to approve the retirement of Wendy Hoadley as AD Assistant effective December 23, 2020. The motion was seconded by Anne Peterson and carried with all members voting in favor with a roll call vote.

Brenda Olson moved to approve the Levy Limitation and Certification Report 2020 Payable 2021 at \$4,021,054.02. The motion was seconded by Greg Larson and carried with all members voting in favor with a roll call vote.

Greg Larson moved to approve the Worlds Best Work Force Summary and Achievement and Integration Progress Report. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried with all members voting in favor with a roll call vote.

Brenda Olson moved to approve the Memorandum of Understanding with the Pelican Rapids Education Association regarding payment rate for teacher preparation time during the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. The motion was seconded by Anne Peterson and carried with all members voting in favor with a roll call vote.

Greg Larson moved to approve the contract with Rodolfo Martinez as Finance Director for July 1, 2021 to June 30, 2023. The motion was seconded by Michael Forsgren and carried with all members voting in favor with a roll call vote.

Jon Karger moved to table the approval of the contract with Brian Korf as Superintendent for July 1, 2021 to June 30, 2024 until the January regular meeting. The motion was seconded by Greg Larson and carried with all members voting in favor with a roll call vote.

Michael Forsgren moved to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried with all members voting in favor with a roll call vote.

Board Chair	Board Clerk